BOT Watch

Home/BOT Watch
BOT Watch 2017-04-04T18:17:11+00:00

A board of trustees, whose five members are elected by local residents, governs the Santa Clarita Community College District. Each board member is elected for terms of four years and has no term limits. The board is tasked with providing oversight of the community college district and its administrators.

The board generally meets twice a month. The public may attend open sessions of the board. Meeting notices and other information is available here.

This section of the COCFA website is designed to provide information that is relevant to the college’s professors and students, which comes from board of trustees meetings and members.


BOT Watch Blog

Alonso unseats Fortine for COC board post

November 9th, 2016|0 Comments

Edel Alonso, after a night of celebrating and monitoring the election results throughout the night, found herself still awake when the sun came up “refreshing and refreshing” the election results [...]

David C. Andrus: A time for change

October 21st, 2016|0 Comments

Rarely does a new candidate for public office emerge that possesses the experience, expertise and overall aptitude to step in and capably serve the community right out of the gate. [...]

College of the Canyons Faculty Association Announces Board Endorsements

September 20th, 2016|0 Comments

The College of the Canyons Faculty Association (COCFA) announces its endorsement of Edel Alonso, Jerry Danielsen and Steven Zimmer for the Santa Clarita Community College District (SCCCD) Board of Trustees. [...]

Time for a Change Commentary by Joan MacGregor

September 20th, 2016|0 Comments

It is with complete confidence and great personal enthusiasm that I endorse Dr. Edel Alonso for the COC Board of Trustees Area 2 seat in the Nov. 8 election. As [...]

KHTS – Election Glance: College Of The Canyons Governing Board, District 2

September 19th, 2016|0 Comments

College of the Canyons officials are readying for their first November election in a three-person battle for the the second district seat held by board member Bruce Fortine. Fortine, the [...]